AOA Breeder Cup Award

AOA would like to recognize the breeders that participate in the AOA National Alpaca Show and the AOA National Fleece Show. Four breeder cups are awarded in each division; Classic, Vintage, and Heirloom. Breeder cups are awarded at both the halter and fleece show, separated by breed. Points are awarded and accrued separately for entries and placements in each category. Cups will be awarded to the breeders that accrue the highest point total percentage for placements in each category. Winners will be announced at the show after the results are tabulated.

Breeder Cup DivisionsAOA Breeder Cup

Classic Cup — Small Entry Division

  • Classic Halter Cup Huacaya
  • Classic Halter Cup Suri
  • Classic Fleece Cup Huacaya
  • Classic Fleece Cup Suri

Vintage Cup — Medium Entry Division

  • Vintage Halter Cup Huacaya
  • Vintage Halter Cup Suri
  • Vintage Fleece Cup Huacaya
  • Vintage Fleece Cup Suri

Heirloom Cup — Large Entry Division

  • Heirloom Halter Cup Huacaya
  • Heirloom Halter Cup Suri
  • Heirloom Fleece Cup Huacaya
  • Heirloom Fleece Cup Suri

Breeder Cup Catagories

  • Halter Huacaya
  • Halter Suri
  • Fleece Huacaya
  • Fleece Suri

Breeders will automatically be entered into categories based on the number of entries in that category. The number of entries that define each division will be determined after the close of registration. A breeder must have a minimum of two entries in a category to be eligible.

Entries will be based on ARI/AOA certificates.

Fleece Show AOA Breeder Cup

Cottage fleece and spin-off classes are not eligible.

Fleece Show

  • Fleece Class (one entry per fleece)
  • Get of Sire Class (one entry per sire)
  • Produce of Dam Class (one entry per dam)

Points Assigned to Placements in Fleece Show

  • First Place = 6 points
  • Second Place = 5 points
  • Third Place = 4 points
  • Fourth Place = 3 points
  • Fifth Place = 2 points
  • Sixth Place = 1 points
  • Color Champion = additional 7 points
  • Reserve Color Champion = additional 5 points
  • Judge's Choice = additional 10 points
  • Specialty fleece awards = additional 5 points

Breaking Ties

There are three levels of tie breakers for this award.

Level 1

If there is a tie, show management will first break the tie on the number of entries for each ranch. The ranch that acquired the points with the fewer entries will win the tie.


Ranch A ended the show with 25 points and a total entries count of 6

Ranch B ended the show with 25 points and a total entries count of 4

Ranch B will be declared the winner.

Level 2

If there is still a tie after using Level I, then show management will review all winnings of the ranches in question and the ranch with the most first place awards will win the tie.


Ranch A ended the show with four 1st place ribbons

Ranch B ended the show with three 1st place ribbons

Ranch A will be declared the winner.

Level 3

If there is still a tie after using the Level I and Level 2 tie breaker system, then show management will assign multipliers to the 1st place awards given to the ranches. The multipliers will be based on the size of the classes that the 1st place awards were given.


Class Size  

Each first place ribbon awarded to the ranches will be reassigned the new point with the multiplier and the ranch awards will be re-calculated with these points to determine the winners.

2019 AOA
Cup Winners

Halter Cup

Classic Cup Huacaya

Sugarland Alpaca Ranch
Aaron Konrardy

Classic Cup Suri

Pines Edge Suri Alpacas
Linda Kondris

Vintage Cup Huacaya

Granite Bay Alpacas
Michelle Ing

Vintage Cup Suri

Rock’n D Enterprises
Bobby and Diane Dickerson

Heirloom Cup Huacaya

Cas-Cad-Nac Farm, LLC
Ian and Jennifer Lutz

Heirloom Cup Suri

Wilkins Ranch
Mike and Janet Wilkins

Fleece Cup

Classic Cup Huacaya

Alpacas at Marquam Hill Ranch
Bill and Jennifer Cameron

Classic Cup Suri

Silver Lining Suris
Judith Buning

Vintage Cup Huacaya

Autumn Sun Alpacas
Mary and Michael Livingston

Vintage Cup Suri

Silverfield Farms
Brian Barfield and Katie Silver

Heirloom Cup Huacaya

Cas-Cad-Nac Farm, LLC
Ian and Jennifer Lutz

Heirloom Cup Suri

Big Timber Alpacas, LLC
Susan King

View Previous Cup Winners