AOA Breeder Cup

AOA Breeder Cup Award

Alpaca Owners Association, Inc. (AOA) would like to recognize the breeders that participate in the AOA National Halter Show and the AOA National Fleece Show. Breeder cups are awarded at both shows, separated by breed. Four breeder cups are awarded in three divisions: Classic, Vintage, and Heirloom. Points are awarded and accrued separately for entries and placements in each category. Division winners will be awarded to the breeders who achieve the highest points accrued for the top three alpaca wins in the Classic Division, the top six alpaca wins in the Vintage Division, and top nine alpaca wins in the Heirloom. Winners will be announced at the shows after the results are tabulated.

View Cup Winners

Breeder Cup Catagories

  • Halter Huacaya
  • Halter Suri
  • Fleece Huacaya
  • Fleece Suri

Breeder Cup Divisions

Classic Cup — Small Farm Division
  • Classic Halter Cup Huacaya
  • Classic Halter Cup Suri
  • Classic Fleece Cup Huacaya
  • Classic Fleece Cup Suri
Vintage Cup — Medium Farm Division
  • Vintage Halter Cup Huacaya
  • Vintage Halter Cup Suri
  • Vintage Fleece Cup Huacaya
  • Vintage Fleece Cup Suri
Heirloom Cup — Large Farm Division
  • Heirloom Halter Cup Huacaya
  • Heirloom Halter Cup Suri
  • Heirloom Fleece Cup Huacaya
  • Heirloom Fleece Cup Suri

A breeder must have a minimum of three entries at the show to be eligible for the Small Farm Division Cup (Classic). A breeder must have a minimum of six entries at the show to be eligible for the Medium Farm Division Cup (Vintage). A breeder must have a minimum of nine entries at the show to be eligible for the Large Farm Division Cup (Heirloom). The cup division will be assigned to each farm using the number of registered females 18 months or older and less than 15 years old per breed as reflected in the AOA database on the date show registration closes. Entries will be based on AOA certificates.

Huacaya Farm Division Break Down
  • Small Farm Division <= 25
  • Medium Farm Division 26–60
  • Large Farm Division >= 61
Suri Farm Division Break Down
  • Small Farm Division <= 20
  • Medium Farm Division 21–35
  • Large Farm Division >= 36

Halter Show

  • Halter Class (one entry per alpaca)
  • Get of Sire Class (one entry per sire)
  • Produce of Dam Class (one entry per dam)
  • Breeder's Best Three Class (one per farm/ranch per entry)
  • Bred and Owned Class (one entry for each alpaca)
Points Assigned to Placements in Halter Show
  • First Place = 6 points
  • Second Place = 5 points
  • Third Place = 4 points
  • Fourth Place = 3 points
  • Fifth Place = 2 points
  • Sixth Place = 1 points
  • Color Champion = additional 7 points
  • Reserve Color Champion = additional 5 points
  • Best Bred and Owned = additional 7 points
  • Supreme Champion = additional 10 points

Breaking Ties

There are two levels of tiebreakers for this award.

Level 1

Show management will review all winnings of the ranches in question and the ranch with the most first place awards will win the tie.


Ranch A ended the show with four 1st place ribbons.

Ranch B ended the show with three 1st place ribbons.

Ranch A will be declared the winner.

Level 2

If there is still a tie, then show management will assign multipliers to the 1st place awards given to the ranches. The multipliers will be based on the size of the classes that the 1st place awards were given.


Class Size

Each first place ribbon awarded to the ranches will be reassigned the new point with the multiplier and the ranch awards will be re-calculated with these points to determine the winners.